NION Berlin Brand Creation

NION Berlin
NION
real estate branding

Having run a design studio in Tokyo for several years, and with both experience and a keen interest in Japanese design and culture, less rain supports “Japan Town Berlin” with a new naming, branding and design.

“Nion” is a proposal to develop an urban area in Berlin into a German Japanese hotspot of contemporary creativity and traditional culture, an innovative technology hub and a striving “local meets international” community.

Initiated by Ryotaro Bordini Chikushi and Andreas Krueger, Andreas Foidl from Belius, the project was publicly unveiled at the Asian-Pacific Weeks Berlin, 2016. less rain developed a bold and vibrant identity for the project, fusing traditional Japanese imagery with contemporary design.

The main colour, Pantone 805, is a bright neon red, obviously referencing both the Japanese and the Berlin flag. It also led us to naming the project NION, a play on both the colour and the word “NIHON” (“Japan”).http://www.nion.berlin/

NION Berlin

More Projects


Digital reconstruction of the Berlin city gates in todays surroundings.

...


For digital design house Meyer, Miller, Smith who is hands on, hard at work building websites and applications, we’ve created an equally “hands on” brand identity, versatile and unique, but also modest and genuine.

...

NION Berlin Brand Creation

NION Berlin
NION
real estate branding

Nachdem wir mehrere Jahre ein Designstudio in Tokio hatten und sowohl Erfahrung als auch ein großes Interesse an japanischem Design und Kultur mitbringen, unterstützt Meyer, Miller, Smith. „Japan Town Berlin“ mit neuen Ideen, Naming, Branding und Design.

„Nion“ ist eine Vision, ein Stadtgebiet in Berlin zu einem deutsch-japanischen Hotspot zeitgenössischer Kreativität und traditioneller Kultur, einem innovativen Technologie-Hub und einer aufstrebenden „local meets international“-Community zu entwickeln.

Das Projekt wurde von Ryotaro Bordini Chikushi und Andreas Krueger von Belius initiiert und auf den Asian-Pacific Weeks Berlin, 2016, öffentlich vorgestellt. Less rain entwickelte eine plakative und lebendige Identität für das Projekt, die traditionelle japanische Bildsprache mit zeitgenössischem Design verschmilzt.

Die Hauptfarbe, Pantone 805, ist ein leuchtendes Neonrot, das offensichtlich sowohl auf die japanische als auch auf die Berliner Flagge verweist. Das brachte uns auch dazu, das Projekt NION zu nennen, eine Anspielung sowohl auf die Farbe als auch auf das Wort „NIHON“.

NION Berlin

Weitere Projekte


Digitale Rekonstruktion der Berliner Stadttore in der heutigen Umgebung

...


Ein paar Worte zu der Entstehung unsere eigenen Markenidentität.

...