Meyer Miller Smith Brand Identity

MMS

For digital design house Meyer, Miller, Smith who is hands on, hard at work building websites and applications, we’ve created an equally “hands on” brand identity, versatile and unique, but also modest and genuine.

Starting with brand values and tonality, we’ve developed a name and an identity, and over the past few years we had the chance to execute that across a wide variety of touch-points, ranging from digital products to print design, beer brewing, scents and events. It has become our showcase, our playground and our workshop, a space were we can be creative without too many corporate limitations.

MMS

Naming

Based on our hands-on approach to digital design and production, we were looking for a name that would be humble and traditional, but equally allow fun and playful interpretations. Poking fun at established law firms and big agencies, named after their founders – Ogilvy & Mather, Bartle Bogle Hegarty or William G. Tragos, Claude Bonnange, Uli Wiesendanger, and Paolo Ajroldi better known as TBWA – we came up with our own founder fathers and name-givers: Meyer, Miller, and Smith.

Meyer, Miller and Smith are of course the three most common english surnames. Together, they gave us not only the very traditional sounding agency name we were after – the combination proved also to be surprisingly unique, and thus was perfect to reach a high Google Search ranking.From there, three fictional characters were created, each one with a bogus biography around one of our key focus areas: story telling, design and technology.

MMS

Logo Design

The original logo idea is based on the simplicity of the three names or characters. Three crosses, XXX, the simple signature of an analphabetic craftsman was turned into a placeholder for us to fill with any kind of symbol or story.

The logo can be designed according to its context, becoming 3 speechbubbles for a talk event or 3 snowflakes for a christmas card. This being a creative playground for every occasion.

MMS
MMS
MMS

Corporate Style

As a backdrop for our three fictional craftsmen we chose 400 year old renaissance etchings, a stark contrast to the often arbitrary visual language of digital agencies.

Most etchings where chosen from French artist Jacques Callot. The landscapes where sampled from Swiss artist Matthäus Merian.

MMS
MMS Website

The website for Meyer, Miller, Smith uses three accent colours – copper, silver and gold – for each one of our founder fathers, highlighting again their artisan history, as well as our three key areas of story telling, design and technology.

The portfolio is programmed as an endless scroll with intelligent lazy-loading, meaning you can scroll through the entire content without a single click. It might take an hour to do so, but at least you can be sure to haven’t missed out on anything in the end!

MMS

Stationary Design

For stationary we chose a warm but bold neon orange, creating a fresh and contemporary look despite the age of the drawings. A fictional Berlin of the past creates the basic setting, everything else is printed in “on demand”, using InDesign and Word templates. It makes for a very flexible design, where contact details can be changed without having to re-print any of the stationary.

What’s more, illustrations can be added to the landscapes on the fly, such as new buildings, inhabitants, or animals. Invoices might feature giant mosquitos for example, whereas the payment reminder is inhabited by creatures from hell.

MMS
MMS
MMS

Event Concept and Design

Over the years, Meyer, Miller, Smith have been taking part in numerous events, opening their offices for example for the annual “Design Nightshift”. Shown here is our “Open Hut” night, celebrating the launch of our ski customisation tool for Atomic.

Three custom pairs of skis were produced, three custom craft beers brewed, three custom scents were created, making for a multi-disciplinary branding of the evening.

MMS
MMS
MMS
MMS

Beer brewing for event

Creating three awesome beers for 3 amazing characters!

MEYER: From Japan with love: Meyer’s take on the Belgian witbier style. Shiso infused Wheat Ale with a lemony twist. (4.2%)

MILLER: Pure Miller distilled into a powerful IPA. Dry-hopped bitterness hiding behind a sensual explosion of mango, peach and passionfruit. (7.5%)

SMITH: Smith’s very own Imperial Stout boasts a lustrous aroma of spicy mocha and velvety dark chocolate. Please enjoy responsibly. (12.5%)

MMS

Scent design

Less Rain’s branding caters for all senses. It doesn’t end with visual touch points, we even brand air.For the “Open Hut” event we developed our three characters further with three different scents, diffused in three different rooms, creating an olfactory scent trail towards a ski hut.

Our scent concepts were created together with our Japanese/Austrian friends from studio AOIRO in Berlin, specialising in natural olfactory design.

MMS
MMS

More Projects

NION Berlin Branding

Brand / Design


Having run a design studio in Tokyo for several years, and with both experience and a keen interest in Japanese design and culture, less rain supports “Japan Town Berlin” with a new naming, branding and design.

...


Online magazine design about property policy in Berlin. The first issue is dedicated to the topic of land fund - what's the deal with the "Bodenfonds GmbH" founded by the state of Berlin?

...

Meyer Miller Smith Brand Identity

MMS

Für uns selbst haben wir eine „handfeste“ Markenidentität geschaffen, vielseitig und einzigartig, aber auch bescheiden und authentisch.

Ausgehend von den Markenwerten und der Tonalität haben wir einen Namen und eine Identität entwickelt. Über die vergangenen  Jahren hatten wir dann die Möglichkeit, diese für eine Vielzahl von „Touchpoints“ umzusetzen, von digitalen Produkten über Printdesign, Bierbrauen, Düfte und Veranstaltungen.

Unsereveigene Marke ist unser Schaufenster, unsere Spielwiese und unsere Werkstatt geworden, ein Raum, in dem wir ohne allzu viele unternehmerische Einschränkungen kreativ sein können.

MMS

Naming

Basierend auf unserer praktischen Herangehensweise an digitales Design und Produktion, suchten wir nach einem Namen, der bescheiden und traditionell ist, aber ebenso lustige und spielerische Interpretationen zulässt. In Anspielung auf etablierte Kanzleien und große Agenturen, die nach ihren Gründern benannt sind – Ogilvy & Mather, Bartle Bogle Hegarty oder William G. Tragos, Claude Bonnange, Uli Wiesendanger und Paolo Ajroldi, besser bekannt als TBWA – haben wir uns unsere eigenen Gründerväter und Namensgeber ausgedacht: Meyer, Miller und Smith.

Meyer, Miller und Smith sind die drei häufigsten englischen Nachnamen. Zusammen gaben sie uns nicht nur den sehr traditionell klingenden Agenturnamen, den wir anstrebten – die Kombination erwies sich auch als überraschend einzigartig und war somit perfekt, um ein hohes Google-Such-ranking zu erreichen. Von dieser Basis aus wurden drei fiktive Charaktere erschaffen, jeder mit einer eigenen Biografie rund um einen unserer Hauptschwerpunkte: Storytelling, Design und Technologie.

MMS

Logo Design

Die ursprüngliche Logo-Idee basiert auf der Einfachheit der drei Namen oder Zeichen. Drei Kreuze, XXX, die einfache Signatur eines analphabetischen Handwerkers wurde zu einem Platzhalter, den wir mit jeglicher Art von Symbol oder Geschichte füllen können.

Das fluide Logo kann je nach Kontext gestaltet werden, z. B. als 3 Sprechblasen für eine Vortragsveranstaltung oder als 3 Schneeflocken für eine Weihnachtskarte. Eine kreative Spielwiese für jeden Anlass.

MMS
MMS
MMS

Corporate Style

Als Theater-Hintergrund für unsere drei fiktiven Handwerker wählten wir 400 Jahre alte Radierungen aus der Renaissance, ein starker Kontrast zur oft willkürlichen Bildsprache digitaler Agenturen.

Einige Radierungen wurden von dem französischen Künstler Jacques Callot ausgewählt. Andere, -die Landschaften- wurden von dem Schweizer Künstler Matthäus Merian ausgeliehen.

MMS
MMS Website

Die esret Website für Meyer, Miller, Smith verwendete drei Akzentfarben – Kupfer, Silber und Gold – für jeden unserer Gründerväter und unterstreicht damit erneut deren handwerkliche Geschichte sowie unsere drei Kernbereiche Story Telling, Design und Technologie.

Das Portfolio ist als Endlos-Scroll mit intelligentem Lazy-Loading programmiert, d.h. User können ohne einen einzigen Klick durch den gesamten Inhalt scrollen. Das kann schon mal eine Stunde dauern, aber wenigstens können Sie sicher sein, am Ende nichts verpasst zu haben!

MMS

Stationary Design

Für das Briefpapier wählten wir ein warmes, aber kräftiges Neonorange, das trotz des Alters der Zeichnungen einen frischen und zeitgemäßen Look erzeugt. Ein fiktives Berlin der Vergangenheit bildet das Grundgerüst, alles andere wird „on demand“ mit InDesign- und Word-Vorlagen eingedruckt. Das sorgt für ein sehr flexibles Design, bei dem die Kontaktdaten geändert werden können, ohne dass das Briefpapier neu gedruckt werden muss.

Außerdem lassen sich die Landschaften im Handumdrehen mit Illustrationen versehen, etwa mit neuen Gebäuden, Bewohnern oder Tieren. Rechnungen können zum Beispiel mit riesigen Moskitos versehen werden, während die Zahlungserinnerung von Kreaturen aus der Hölle bewohnt wird.

MMS
MMS
MMS

Event Concept and Design

Im Laufe der Jahre haben Meyer, Miller, Smith an zahlreichen Veranstaltungen teilgenommen und ihre Büros zum Beispiel für die jährliche „Design Nightshift“ geöffnet. Hier ist unsere „Open Hut“-Nacht zu sehen, mit der wir den Start unseres Ski-Anpassungstools für Atomic feierten.

Drei maßgefertigte Paar Ski wurden hergestellt, drei maßgefertigte Craft-Biere gebraut, drei maßgefertigte Düfte kreiert, was zu einem multidisziplinären Branding des Abends führte.

MMS
MMS
MMS
MMS

Beer brewing for event

Drei fantastische, selbstgebraute Biere für drei erstaunliche Charaktere!

MEYER: Mit Liebe aus Japan: Meyers Interpretation des belgischen Witbier-Stils. Shiso infundiertes Wheat Ale mit einem zitronigen Twist. (4.2%)

MILLER: Reines Miller destilliert zu einem kraftvollen IPA. Trockengehopfte Bitterkeit versteckt sich hinter einer sinnlichen Explosion von Mango, Pfirsich und Passionsfrucht. (7.5%)

SMITH: Smith’s eigenes Imperial Stout besticht durch ein glänzendes Aroma von würzigem Mokka und samtiger dunkler Schokolade. Bitte verantwortungsvoll genießen. (12.5%)

MMS

Olfaktorisches Design

Unser Branding versucht stets alle Sinne anzusprechen. Für das „Open Hut“-Event haben wir unsere drei Charaktere mit drei verschiedenen Düften weiterentwickelt, die in drei verschiedenen Räumen verteilt wurden und eine olfaktorische Duftspur in Richtung Skihütte kreierten.

Das Duftkonzepte entstand gemeinsam mit unseren japanisch-österreichischen Freunden vom Studio AOIRO in Berlin, das sich auf natürliches olfaktorisches Design spezialisiert hat.

MMS
MMS

Weitere Projekte

NION Berlin Branding

Brand / Design


Nachdem wir mehrere Jahre ein Designstudio in Tokio betrieben haben und sowohl Erfahrung als auch ein großes Interesse an japanischem Design und Kultur mitbringen, unterstützt Meyer, Miller, Smith. "Japan Town Berlin" mit neuen Ideen, Naming, Branding und Design.

...


Online Magazin Design zur Liegenschaftspolitik Berlin. Die erste Ausgabe widmet sich dem Thema Bodenfonds - was hat es auf sich mit der vom Land Berlin gegründeten Bodenfonds GmbH?

...